22 thoughts on “DDR#420 – Jaxis, the Troublemaker + Blitz”
This might be a very basic question, but if I have a rielle the everwise on the battlefield and I cast a stubborn denial with 3 instant or sorceries in my graveyard, do I get ferocious or not? My gut instinct is no because it'll check for ferocious on casting, not resolution, so the stubborn denial would have to be in the graveyard for rielle to see it, and it's not; it's on the stack. Just wanted to double check. Thanks for the content as always!
So I have a populate deck and I had thought if a populate the tokes made by Delina, Wild Mage they would gain the exile trigger. Have i been doing it wrong?
For me this does beg the question of a blitz creature with Clone that was blitzed using Toolbox Torre. Based on Blitzโs wording I would think that since the clone was cast for blitz, you would then draw two cards. If anyone knows if this is correct or if it wouldnโt happen let me know!
Turns out my brother and I played this wrong over the weekend. But that's okay, it was our opponent who controlled the Jaxis, so we let them draw extra cards.
Here's my ruling interpretation for a clone with blitz.
Suppose there is a hypothetical card Blitz Clone, that is a word-for-word reprint of Clone, except with Blitz {W}{U}{B}{R}{G}. Amy casts Blitz Clone with Blitz while she controls a Grizzly Bears and a Girder Goons. What options does Amy have as the permanent is entering the battlefield, and what happens in each case?
1. Amy decides to not copy anything. The clone immediately dies due to SBA. Amy draws a card, since the clone's blitz cost was paid and so it has "When this creature dies, draw a card". If Amy had a way to somehow keep the clone alive, perhaps a Glorious Anthem, it would have haste and would be sacrificed at the beginning of the end step.
2. Amy copies the Grizzly Bears. The clone does not have haste, since the clone's copy effect overwrites all abilities the clone would normally have including the blitz-related abilities. At the beginning of the next end step, Amy must sacrifice the clone, and will not draw a card.
3. Amy copies Girder Goons. Since the spell's blitz cost was indeed paid, the abilities of Girder Goons give the clone haste and "When this creature dies, draw a card", even though the similar abilities granted by the clone having blitz have been removed. Amy must sacrifice the clone at the beginning of the next end step, and will draw a single card.
Hi there, may I ask about the rule between Season of Witch and Silent Arbiter? How many creature will be sacrificed for Season of Witch effect? I played in my group and we kinda come with the conclusion that no creature will sacrificed, but we also not really sure. I also can't find a specific answer for the interaction. ๐
It would be funny if they made a clone card with a blitz ability to temporarily copy a creature, however even then, (it's) blitz cost wasn't paid because (it) is using a different blitz cost than the one that just appeared on the board. Hopefully that makes sense lol
Saw this question resulting in some big divides between some judges recently: "if I have veyran voice of duality on the field and a goldspan dragon as well and I target the goldspan with any instant or sorcery would it trigger twice creating two treasures?"
Hi I have rules question, for which I wasn't able to find any clear rule in the CR.
Veyran and a creature with Heroic are on the battlefield. I cast a spell targeting Heroic. Does the ability trigger 2 times?
From what I understood from L2 judges, it doesn't. But they were not able to say exactly where in the rules this is. All I found was 601.2c, which satates targeting is part of casting the spell (if I read ir correctly).
Only way I can see a clone with blitz is if you wanted blitz on a creature but didn't want to get rid of the original. Blitz cloning a Sun Titan would be interesting ๐ Blitz Clone: Blitz 2, this creature enters the battlefield as a copy of another creature, if Blitz was paid, etc etc etc.
This might be a very basic question, but if I have a rielle the everwise on the battlefield and I cast a stubborn denial with 3 instant or sorceries in my graveyard, do I get ferocious or not? My gut instinct is no because it'll check for ferocious on casting, not resolution, so the stubborn denial would have to be in the graveyard for rielle to see it, and it's not; it's on the stack. Just wanted to double check. Thanks for the content as always!
This was way more complicated than I initially thought it would be. Thanks for the explanation ๐
Question: what would happen if you control Jinnie Fay and played Eiganjo uprising? Would the replaced tokens gain haste and menace?
So I have a populate deck and I had thought if a populate the tokes made by Delina, Wild Mage they would gain the exile trigger. Have i been doing it wrong?
A clone copying a blitz creature would also not get haste right?
For me this does beg the question of a blitz creature with Clone that was blitzed using Toolbox Torre. Based on Blitzโs wording I would think that since the clone was cast for blitz, you would then draw two cards. If anyone knows if this is correct or if it wouldnโt happen let me know!
Henzie "Toolbox" Torre could give a clone cast blitz.
Awesome, thanks Dave! ๐
Turns out my brother and I played this wrong over the weekend. But that's okay, it was our opponent who controlled the Jaxis, so we let them draw extra cards.
Here's my ruling interpretation for a clone with blitz.
Suppose there is a hypothetical card Blitz Clone, that is a word-for-word reprint of Clone, except with Blitz {W}{U}{B}{R}{G}. Amy casts Blitz Clone with Blitz while she controls a Grizzly Bears and a Girder Goons. What options does Amy have as the permanent is entering the battlefield, and what happens in each case?
1. Amy decides to not copy anything. The clone immediately dies due to SBA. Amy draws a card, since the clone's blitz cost was paid and so it has "When this creature dies, draw a card". If Amy had a way to somehow keep the clone alive, perhaps a Glorious Anthem, it would have haste and would be sacrificed at the beginning of the end step.
2. Amy copies the Grizzly Bears. The clone does not have haste, since the clone's copy effect overwrites all abilities the clone would normally have including the blitz-related abilities. At the beginning of the next end step, Amy must sacrifice the clone, and will not draw a card.
3. Amy copies Girder Goons. Since the spell's blitz cost was indeed paid, the abilities of Girder Goons give the clone haste and "When this creature dies, draw a card", even though the similar abilities granted by the clone having blitz have been removed. Amy must sacrifice the clone at the beginning of the next end step, and will draw a single card.
Turboclone {4}{U}
Creature – Shapeshifter
Blitz {3}{R}
~ enters the battlefield as a copy of a creature you control, except it has ~'s Blitz ability.
It doesn't exist yet but it could in the future if/when wotc revisits Blitz.
edit: actually this could be funky if the creature already had blitz, maybe this is trickier than I thought
420 blaze it
So informative. Thank you
Hi there, may I ask about the rule between Season of Witch and Silent Arbiter? How many creature will be sacrificed for Season of Witch effect? I played in my group and we kinda come with the conclusion that no creature will sacrificed, but we also not really sure. I also can't find a specific answer for the interaction. ๐
Neat
It would be funny if they made a clone card with a blitz ability to temporarily copy a creature, however even then, (it's) blitz cost wasn't paid because (it) is using a different blitz cost than the one that just appeared on the board. Hopefully that makes sense lol
Getting Blitzed on 420
There's no clone effect with blitz, but you can make your own using Mystic Reflection.
Saw this question resulting in some big divides between some judges recently: "if I have veyran voice of duality on the field and a goldspan dragon as well and I target the goldspan with any instant or sorcery would it trigger twice creating two treasures?"
Hi I have rules question, for which I wasn't able to find any clear rule in the CR.
Veyran and a creature with Heroic are on the battlefield. I cast a spell targeting Heroic. Does the ability trigger 2 times?
From what I understood from L2 judges, it doesn't. But they were not able to say exactly where in the rules this is. All I found was 601.2c, which satates targeting is part of casting the spell (if I read ir correctly).
420 Rule it!
Only way I can see a clone with blitz is if you wanted blitz on a creature but didn't want to get rid of the original.
Blitz cloning a Sun Titan would be interesting ๐
Blitz Clone: Blitz 2, this creature enters the battlefield as a copy of another creature, if Blitz was paid, etc etc etc.
:45 um, actually amy will draw one card from the blitzed girder goons, right?